Command: vagrant destroy [name|id]

This command stops the running machine Vagrant is managing and destroys all resources that were created during the machine creation process. After running this command, your computer should be left at a clean state, as if you never created the guest machine in the first place.

For linux-based guests, Vagrant uses the shutdown command to gracefully terminate the machine. Due to the varying nature of operating systems, the shutdown command may exist at many different locations in the guest's $PATH. It is the guest machine's responsibility to properly populate the $PATH with directory containing the shutdown command.


  • -f or --force - Do not ask for confirmation before destroying.

The destroy command does not remove a box that may have been installed on your computer during vagrant up. Thus, even if you run vagrant destroy, the box installed in the system will still be present on the hard drive. To return your computer to the state as it was before vagrant up command, you need to use vagrant box remove.

For more information, read about the vagrant box remove command.