Uninstalling Vagrant is easy and straightforward. You can either uninstall the Vagrant binary, the user data, or both. The sections below cover how to do this on every platform.
Removing the Vagrant Program
Removing the Vagrant program will remove the
vagrant binary and all
dependencies from your machine. After uninstalling the program, you can
always reinstall again using standard
methods. Uninstalling Vagrant will not remove user data. The section below this
one gives more detailed instructions on how to remove that directory from your
Uninstall using the add/remove programs section of the control panel
On Mac OS X:
sudo rm -rf /opt/vagrant /usr/local/bin/vagrant sudo pkgutil --forget com.vagrant.vagrant
rm -rf /opt/vagrant rm -f /usr/bin/vagrant
Removing User Data
On all platforms, this directory is located in the root of your home directory,
and is named
vagrant.d. Simply remove the
~/.vagrant.d directory to delete the user data. If on
Windows, this directory is located at
YourUsername is the username of your local user.
When debugging, the Vagrant support team may ask you to remove this directory. Before removing this directory, please make a backup.
Running Vagrant will automatically regenerate any data necessary to run, so it is safe to remove the user data at any time.